Zombicide: BP – Painting Survivors #7

Another four figures completed. That puts me just past halfway through the survivors that I have. I’d love to have them all finished by the end of the year, but that means I’ll have to complete 3 each week – that’s probably not going to happen!

These four are from an assortment of “sets”:

Nelly – Original game

James – William of Baskerville (Sean Connery) “The Name of the Rose” (‘James’ surely a reference to another of his movie roles!)

Arnaud – Hero Box

Redcap Rodney – Special Guest artist (Marc Simonetti)

 

I photographed them before varnishing today. I used to do this, and today I remembered a major reason for doing it – to note things I might have missed. I’d forgotten to silver Arnaud’s jacket clasps and the belt studs. The weather is perfect for drying figures, so now they are outside drying so I’ll get a second coat of varnish on them before it’s late in afternoon.

These four were all pretty straight forward figures to paint. Each had one or two main colour(s), and not a lot a fiddly detail requiring extra attention. The exception to that was sandal straps on Nelly and James. I need a couple of fine brushes to replace the two that died recently. I don’t have a brush that I’m happy with for painting thin lines. If I did I would have given the brown line on Nelly’s skirt a go. I suppose that I can add that in future…

 

My wife likes both James and Arnaud – she likes searching every turn, so ‘Search: +1 card‘ and ‘+1 free Search Action‘ go down very well with her. While having two distinct “Magic” skills, he has ‘+1 max range’ (good for both magic and ranged weapons) and two “Combat” skills, making him a fairly flexible survivor. Rodney stands out as a valuable melee survivor right from the beginning with ‘+1 Damage: Melee’, as a Fatty or Abomination killer right from the beginning of a game.

This also brings my number of completed figures this year to 74, a big improvement over the last two years. If I can finish the Zombicide survivors I’ll be very close to 100 miniatures!

Leave a comment