Painting 6 – Not a maze in sight…

Last week’s painting afternoon produced one excellent Minotaur. He’s a metal Games Workshop figure and almost entirely painted by Azazel. I followed this up over the weekend by copying his technique and doing three plastic GW Minotaurs – from the “Warhammer Quest” board game.

DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately, the plastic figures don’t have the same level of detail. I don’t play Warhammer Quest any more, and the metal figure has always been my choice if I want a Minotaur figure for anything else (usually D&D), so I like that fact that he looks professionally painted. Touch-ups tomorrow to finish him off as well as any suggestions Azazel has for the others.

DIGITAL CAMERADIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still can’t get consistent lighting when I’m taking photo’s, so one Minotaur looks “orange” when he’s really a reddish-brown. There’s also a lot of reflection of the plastic figures – their flesh looks a bit blotchy in some of the pictures. Their base coat didn’t go on evenly, so I’ll have to pay more attention to that and make sure my paint’s not too thick/thin when I apply it. (But it’s not as bad as the pictures make it seem.)

 

DIGITAL CAMERA               DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Painting 6 – Not a maze in sight…

  1. Pingback: The Bronze Bull | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a Reply

